Suspended Georgia Drivers License
The reason for having a suspended Georgia drivers license status can vary. It can happen for a number of reasons. Often, an SR22 or SR22A Filing is required to regain your driving privileges. A suspended Georgia drivers license status can occur for traffic violations, as well as for non-moving violations. If you find out from the Georgia Department of Drivers Services that your drivers license has been suspended, you’ll also be informed which steps you can take to reinstate your drivers license. The length of time of the duration of the suspension will depend on the reason for the suspension. Although there are numerous causes for having a suspended Georgia drivers license status, the most common reasons include: driving without auto insurance, driving while drivers licensed is suspended, failure to appear in court to answer the charges of a moving violation, driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs, (DUI), or refusal to take a chemical test for alcohol or drugs.
Suspended Georgia Drivers License Status For Driving Without Auto Insurance
A suspended Georgia drivers license status will occur if you are unable to provide proof of auto insurance to a law enforcement officer when asked. The 1st offense for driving with no auto insurance will result in suspension of your drivers license for 60 days. Even if you don’t own the vehicle, you must provide proof of auto insurance, or you’ll be charged with driving without auto insurance. If you have been convicted of driving with no insurance multiple times, then your drivers license will be suspended for 90 days. You will have to have an SR22A Filing to reinstate.
Driving With A Suspended License
If you have been convicted of before, your license will be suspended for another six months. If the original suspended Georgia drivers license status occurred as a result of a controlled substance violation, and you’re convicted of driving with a suspended drivers license, you could be fined up to $5,000 and spend up to a year in jail. It becomes a felony after four or more convictions within 5 years.
Failure To Appear
A suspension can be indefinite for failing to appear for a traffic violation. It will not be lifted until the court case is settled for the original traffic violation.
Driving Under The Influence (DUI)
A first conviction of DUI will result in a suspension period of 120 days and a possible clinical evaluation. The penalties and time for suspension increase for two (2) or more convictions for DUI. A second conviction will result in an 18-month drivers license suspension, a completion of an Alcohol or Drug Use Risk Reduction Program, and the installation of an Interlock Device. After 3 DUI violations within a 5 year period, the driver is considered a habitual offender and will need an SR22 Filing to reinstate the suspended Georgia drivers license status.